Next Nigerian president: Who will you endorse?

By this time in 2019 and 2023, Nigeria will be on the heat of election business as usual.

In 2019, either Buhari or Osinbajo will be holding office while several other political parties will be parading their candidates for the race for presidency and Nigerians will have to decide who to elect. By 2023, Buhari and/or Osinbajo will be leaving the race to whoever wins the race for the All Progressives Congress’ (APC) presidential ticket. As usual, all these candidates will enter the race through their respective political party platform where only the few Nigerians who belong to their respective political parties will endorse their candidacy and vote for them to run for presidency.

But who will common, non-politically affiliated Nigerians endorse as next Nigerian president?

We have launched a poll on Twitter so that you can vote. Without any bias, whether political, religious or ethnic, we are wondering who common, non-politically affiliated Nigerians will endorse as next Nigerian president among these few popular social and political leaders:

Wole Soyinka

Wole Soyinka is a Nigerian playwright and poet. Between 1952 and 1954, he studied English literature, Greek and Western history at the University College, Ibadan, where he and six other students of the university at that time founded the Pyrates Confraternity, an anti-corruption, justice-seeking student organisation and the first confraternity in Nigeria.

Wole Soyinka has openly criticised successive Nigerian governments, especially the country’s many military dictators. As a result, he has been imprisoned several times by former Nigerian military dictators. He also took an active role in Nigeria’s struggle for independence from Great Britain.

Ayodele Fayose

Ayodele Fayose became the second executive governor of Ekiti on 29 May 2003 but he could not complete his tenure as a result of an impeachment on 16 October 2006.

In 2014, Ayodele Fayose won the governorship election in Ekiti on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

On June 20, 2014, an army intelligence officer Captain Sagir Koli secretly recorded a vote-rigging plan at a meeting that Fayose attended prior to the governorship election he eventually won in 2014.

Babatunde Fashola

Babatunde Fashola is a Nigerian lawyer and politician. He became the 13th governor of Lagos on May 29, 2007, and remained in office till May 20, 2015. He is currently the Federal Minister of Power, Works and Housing.

Babatunde Fashola studied Law at the University of Benin and graduated in 1987.

Under his leadership as governor, the project to transform Lagos into a mega city was accelerated.

Fashola is popularly known for his integrity. But in January 2010, the Lagos State House of Assembly launched an investigation into possible mishandling of tax payers’ money by Fashola, mainly on the mega city project. The accusations range from importing of palm trees from Niger to a rainforest state, to improper use of contract money involving one of Lagos State’s contractors. The probe was shutdown and never completed in the end though.

Oluremi Sonaiya

Oluremi Sonaiya was the only female presidential candidate in the 2015 election. She is an educationist, politician and writer. She contested the 2015 election on the platform of KOWA party, a party that evangelises policies of inclusion and equality.

In 2004, Oluremi Sonaiya became Professor of French Language and Applied Linguistics at Obafemi Awolowo University. In 2010, she retired from her position at Obafemi Awolowo University and became politically active, joining the KOWA party. She is a fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation where she was also appointed Ambassador Scientist from 2008 to 2014.

At the 2015 election, Oluremi Sonaiya received 13,076 votes and ended in 12th place.

Who will you endorse?

Cast your vote for who you will endorse in our ongoing Twitter vote. Click here to vote now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *